Penguin’s African Writers Series: Ngũgĩ wa Thiong'o discusses and signs Weep Not, Child and A Grain of Wheat

Vroman's introduces the brand-new Penguin African Writers Series, launching with the two best-known novels by the great Kenyan writer Ngũgĩ wa Thiong'o! First published in 1964, Weep Not, Child is a moving novel about the effects of the infamous Mau Mau uprising on the lives of ordinary men and women, and on one family in particular. Three years later, A Grain of Wheat was published, which portrays several characters in a village whose intertwined lives are transformed by the 1952-1960 Emergency in Kenya.



Event date: 
Tuesday, June 5, 2012 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
695 E. Colorado Blvd
91101 Pasadena
By Ngugi Wa Thiong'o, Ben Okri (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9780143106692
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 5th, 2012

By Ngugi Wa Thiong'o, Abdulrazak Gurnah (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9780143106760
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - June 5th, 2012