0 Items $0.00
 
                              

Please call 626-449-5320 to check the availability of this item. 

Symptoms of Being Human (Hardcover)

Symptoms of Being Human Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore
5 on hand, as of Sep 20 12:43pm
(40 YOUNG ADULT)
Vroman's Hastings Ranch
2 on hand, as of Sep 20 12:45pm
(40 YOUNG ADULT)

Description


A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in uber-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062382863
ISBN-10: 0062382861
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English