0 Items $0.00
 
                              

Please call 626-449-5320 to check the availability of this item. 

Everything Matters! (Paperback)

Everything Matters! Cover Image
$16.00
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore
3 on hand, as of Oct 22 11:30am
(59 FICTION PB)

July 2009 Indie Next List


“What would you do if you knew the hour and the day that earth was to be destroyed by a meteor? This is the struggle of Junior Thibodeaux. As he races against time to save everything he loves, the reader will be transfixed and, ultimately, transformed by this big-hearted, brilliant novel.”
— christopher bowe, Longfellow Books, Portland, ME

Description


"Startlingly talented . . . he survives the inevitable, apt comparisons to Kurt Vonnegut and writes in a tenderly mordant voice all his own." -Janet Maslin, The New York Times

In this novel rich in character, Junior Thibodeau grows up in rural Maine in a time of Atari, baseball cards, pop Catholicism, and cocaine. He also knows something no one else knows-neither his exalted parents, nor his baseball-savant brother, nor the love of his life (she doesn't believe him anyway): The world will end when he is thirty-six. While Junior searches for meaning in a doomed world, his loved ones tell an all-American family saga of fathers and sons, blinding romance, lost love, and reconciliation-culminating in one final triumph that reconfigures the universe. A tour de force of storytelling, Everything Matters is a genre-bending potpourri of alternative history, sci-fi, and the great American tale in the tradition of John Irving and Margaret Atwood.

About the Author


Ron Currie is the author of the novels Everything Matters!, Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles, and The One-Eyed Man, and the story collection God Is Dead, which was the winner of the New York Public Library's Young Lions Award. Currie received the Addison M. Metcalf Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His books have been translated into fifteen languages. He lives in Portland, Maine.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143117513
ISBN-10: 0143117513
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: July 27th, 2010
Pages: 305
Language: English