0 Items $0.00
 
                              

Please call 626-449-5320 to check the availability of this item. 

The Great Hamster Massacre (Hardcover)

The Great Hamster Massacre Cover Image
By Katie Davies, Hannah Shaw (Illustrator)
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore
1 on hand, as of Oct 17 11:30am
(40 JR. FICTION)

Description


Anna and her brother, Tom, have always wanted a pet. And after their latest pestering campaign, their mother finally gives in and lets them choose a pair of hamsters from the local pet shop. But their happiness soon turns to horror when the hamsters are found mysteriously dead in their cage. Anna and Tom launch a full-scale investigation to determine who--or what--is behind the hamster homicides. Can they solve the case of the Great Hamster Massacre?

Katie Davies' irresistibly funny mystery and Hanna Shaw's spot-on illustrations combine for a quirky, delightful read that is part detective tale, part diary, and altogether hilarious.

Praise For…


"Inspired use of simple words, straightforward syntax and effective repetition make this a top pick for slow or reluctant readers...Under the plot’s frothy surface lie serious depths...An auspicious debut."--Kirkus Reviews



"A flippy, fun and extremely fast-paced journey into the world of a very likable brother and sister--and their amusing family and friends. Intermittent silly pencil sketches fill the pages diary-style, creating a whimsical mood and adding comic relief.... Giggles are frequent among the kids in this book, and they will infect readers as well."

--BookPage, May 2011



"This British import is an interesting mix of British humor with serious issues interspersed.

Whimsical, cartoonish pen-and-ink illustrations accompany the story and help lighten the seriousness....This is the first in a series that will appeal to fans of Roald Dahl and Dick King-Smith."

--Booklist, July 1, 2011



"For young readers who can handle a bit of the macabre with their giggles, this strange little tale will be perfectly appealing."

--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, July/August 2011



"An interesting take on how children deal with grief and shock.... Anna’s voice is engaging, and portrayals of various pets and neighbors (with accompanying hand-drawn side notes and cartoons) will entertain...give this dark comedy to reluctant readers, mystery lovers, and fans of narrator-illustrated fare like Jeff Kinney’s “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” books or Tom Angleberger’s The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (2010, both Abrams)."

--School Library Journal, September 2011

Product Details
ISBN: 9781442420625
ISBN-10: 1442420626
Publisher: Beach Lane Books
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2011
Pages: 208
Language: English
Series: Great Critter Capers