0 Items $0.00

Please call 626-449-5320 to check the availability of this item. 

Funeral Platter: Stories (Hardcover)

Funeral Platter: Stories Cover Image
$24.99
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore
4 on hand, as of Dec 12 7:45pm
(01 HC FICTION)
Vroman's Hastings Ranch
1 on hand, as of Dec 12 7:45pm
(01 HC FICTION)

Description


From the author of the award-winning novel Buffalo Lockjaw comes a powerful collection of darkly humorous short stories. A young girl uses a burnt log for her ventriloquist act; Franz Kafka and an unnamed narrator cruise a dive bar for women; a grieving couple stage and execute their own funeral; a son brings hot chowder to his caged parents. This stunning collection--packed with moments of violence and tenderness--explores the humor and unease of modern life. Since he first began publishing his fiction, Greg Ames has been praised for his willingness to take risks and the strength and freshness of his voice. Assembled here for the first time, this collection brings together the best work from a brilliant American writer, a playful and innovative artist. In these twenty original short stories, Greg Ames earns his place as one of the best writers of his generation.
In the tradition of Etgar Keret, Greg Ames' prose style ties together the absurd hilarity and deep anguish of contemporary life. These wildly inventive stories will appeal to readers who thirst for a unique, deeply humane voice.

About the Author


Greg Ames's debut novel, Buffalo Lockjaw, won the Book of the Year Award from the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association (NAIBA). His work has appeared in the Best American Nonrequired Reading, Southern Review, McSweeney's, Catapult, and The Sun, among others. He splits his time between Brooklyn, New York, and Hamilton, New York, where he is an associate professor of English at Colgate University. He can be found at www.gregames.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781510725812
ISBN-10: 1510725814
Publisher: Arcade Publishing
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2017
Pages: 266
Language: English