Sarah

 

Sarah works in the Book Department

 

 

 

The Family Fang (Hardcover)

$23.99
ISBN-13: 9780061579035
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Ecco, 8/2011
From what I can tell, this novel was not intended as some larger metaphor for dysfunctional families; but for how specifically dysfunctional they are, this particular (fictional) family could be many---could be your very own! (...Though for your sake, I hope that it isn’t.) “The Family Fang” is as compelling as the characters are destructive, as tender as they are shocking. Somehow the absurdity of their behavior only heightens the humanity of this cast of characters are destructive, as tender as they are shocking. Somehow the absurdity of their behavior only heightens the humanity of this cast of oddballs, and so the result is something refreshingly different from anything that I have read in awhile and nowhere near as goofy as the description may sound

Recommended by Sarah


$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780307740991
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Vintage, 8/2010

Not quite an easy book to read, but quite worthy of the time that you invest in doing so. The difficulty has less to do with the writing and more to do with the plight of the characters – and the ready self-examination which their troubles inspire. In this story you will find “knotted tension” and “anguish”, to be sure. You will also find mystery, adventure, and true heart. It is rare to meet fictional people that you will care about so deeply that your life will seem bigger for reading their story.

Recommended by Sarah


The Catcher in the Rye (Mass Market Paperback)

$8.99
ISBN-13: 9780316769488
Availability: Probably In Stock -- Call to confirm
Published: Little, Brown and Company, 1/1991

Your first introduction to this book may have been as “required reading” for a high school English class with a teacher who – try as he/she might – failed to convey the humor and poignancy of the story. The language may be a bit dated (all slang goes the way of the dodo, eventually) but the relevance of the subject matter endures. My vote is that you give it a[nother] chance, it may surprise you! Because...
“Among other things, you’ll find that you’re not the first person who was ever confused and frightened and even sickened by human behavior. You’re by no means alone on that score, you’ll be excited and stimulated to know” – J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye

Recommended by Sarah


$30.00
ISBN-13: 9781402778957
Availability: Probably In Stock -- Call to confirm
Published: Sterling, 9/2010

Whether you are vegetarian or not this cookbook should be considered a kitchen essential. I have never seen so many compelling dishes listed in one new volume with vegan AND vegetarian variations, all of them tantalizing enough to entice me into ignoring meat for a while - if only until I've gotten through all of the recipes!

Recommended by Sarah


La Perdida (Paperback)

$18.00
ISBN-13: 9780375714719
Availability: Probably In Stock -- Call to confirm
Published: Pantheon, 5/2008

La Perdida is a perfect graphic novel. In fact, the interplay of illustrations with story arc and dialogue create such a tangible environment that I’m not sure the voice and setting would have translated as keenly if Jessica Abel had written “La Perdida” in the traditional novel format. I found Carla’s romantic (NOT “romance”, romantic) quest to “find herself” and all of the accompanying UNromantic follies and foibles to be entertaining, thought-provoking, and familiar. We all, to a lesser extent, know or have been Carla.

Recommended by Sarah


$25.95
ISBN-13: 9781594630736
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Hudson Street Press, 1/2011

Written with clarity and scientific rigor as well as a healthy dose of humor, this is probably one of the most responsibly researched and well-presented books on goal achievement that you will ever read. You will learn: What has gotten in the way of achievement; how you set goals that you’re not conscious of; tools for assessing future goals; and why the “think positive” motto doesn’t ensure success. For fans of John Medina and Mary Roach.

Recommended by Sarah


$23.95
ISBN-13: 9781591842590
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Portfolio Hardcover, 6/2009

I read this book in ONE sitting. I tried to put it down, but I couldn’t – which, I think, is a bit unheard of for books with an “advice-giving” tone. Well, now you’re heard [read] it! DO YOU HAVE A PERSONAL ‘MT. EVEREST’? (It’s likely that you do.) Even if you don’t know where/what it is, this book is sure to help you set about locating it. Like a conversation with a good friend, MacLeod’s insights are provided in the clearest and cleanest style possible. Bonus points to the author for all the wee illustrations!

Recommended by Sarah