0 Items $0.00
 
 
 
                  
                                                                                                        

Sarah

 

Pond Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399575891
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - July 12th, 2016

In telling us its story in its very own way, Pond challenges us to answer many questions around the themes of what is actually required to get to know something or someone. Is a name necessary? What they wear? Where they live? Are their values more important than their fancies? Are those inextricably linked? 

The central riddle: with a narrator who cannot be described as unreliable Pond still asks how a narrator can ever be entirely reliable. 

The central magic: Claire-Louise Bennett takes us through the intimate epiphanies, and casual observations, of her character's life in a manner that encourages us to consider the vastness of our own personal territories - how much there is yet to discover about ourselves, and of those around us. 

A wonder, a marvel, a thinker's treat. 

(July 2016) 


What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594634635
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - March 8th, 2016

If you share traits with the average, or even above-average reader, you enjoy disappearing into the landscapes of the stores you read, and moving with the characters through their days. You enjoy the buoyancy of suspending your disbelief when the author can manage that trick.

You are also, “not really into short stories.” But, remember: brevity is the soul of wit. If you would allow for it, this collection of little worlds could change your mind about the format entirely.

Oyeyemi writes about that time a goddess was invoked to deal with the bad behavior of a pop-singer, or what happens when puppets have opinions about the manipulative behavior of puppeteers. Within these pages, a secret garden unites a pair of liars who find they can tell each other only the truth…and there’s more, with humor, seriousness, and eerie beauty shimmering throughout.  This is a bargain of a treasure chest. Take it home. 


The Handmaid's Tale Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780385490818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor Books - March 13th, 1998

The Republic of Gilead is a monotheocratic post-American dystopia in which reading is banned along with most other freedoms for all women and a vast majority of the men. People’s roles in this society are determined by their reproductive viability, so it is fair to say: things have gotten weird. For Offred, life before becoming a handmaid was not so long ago and as she is left with only her memories to pass the long hours she must decide whether he will resign herself to her new circumstances or develop the courage to resist. I found this well-written story to be relevant, believable and (surprisingly, given the subject) easy-to-read.


Good Poems Cover Image
By Various, Garrison Keillor (Editor)
$21.00
ISBN: 9780142003442
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - August 26th, 2003

Everything about this poetry anthology is good: the foreword, the poems, the shade of blue used for the cover, the typeface… perhaps I’m getting a bit silly. (Yeah, silly about how good this collection is.) Good Poems is a fantastic treat to give yourself, or anyone, who likes poetry, and stirring wordsmithery.


The Casual Vacancy Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780316228589
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - July 23rd, 2013

Pagford is a picturesque English village, the sort of place where you might set a cozy BBC show, and the last place you might imagine the unfolding of political drama. However, when a sudden vacancy appears on the town council, the election process soon reveals fractures beneath the town’s idyllic veneer. Rowling’s authorial voice, humor, and compassion shine through but “Casual Vacancy” has a tone very different from her most well-known work. What comes to the fore, then, is the value of small mercies – the heroism of the relief found in moments of silence while holding someone’s hand, or cracking the most inappropriate joke to instill bravery in your friends. “The Casual Vacancy” is about the unexpected impact of all the things that ‘don’t-ever-seem-to’ by ‘always-really’ matter.'


Single, Carefree, Mellow: Stories Cover Image
$23.95
ISBN: 9780385353632
Availability: Not Available
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - February 3rd, 2015

I have a fondness for fiction that has a sense of humor and place – and if it says something old-as-time in a new way, even better. These stories meet all the marks. The title piece absolutely blindsided me. The characters are not exactly likeable (often, unlikable) yet for all their privilege and obliviousness they are still relatable. They might be friends of yours. Heiny captures women’s worlds, their friendships, indiscretions, and interior lives, with quiet accuracy. Her style is fresh, “slice of life” and sneak attack clever. For me this is THE breakout read for 2015.

Recommended by Sarah


Leaving Before the Rains Come Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781594205866
Availability: Special Order
Published: Penguin Press - January 22nd, 2015

If you enjoyed her others (“Don’t Lets Go to the Dogs Tonight”, “Cocktail House under the Tree of Forgetfulness”) you don’t need to bother reading the rest of this review. Buy the book, it’s that good. Alexandra Fuller, of the “Africa Fullers”, is a terrifically clear and funny storyteller who believes that doing memoir properly requires the willingness to ‘court exile from your tribe.’ Be that as it may, she’s done a remarkable job of disclosing her history in a manner that reads as a contextual and never exploitative. Our head book buyer describes her as being “in total command” on the page and fair to her people,” and I agree with that assessment entirely. Her work continues to feature the antics of her charming, insane-in-a-good-way, family and the many ways her wildness shaped her. Here, she shares the dissolution of her marriage, but this isn’t really a “divorce memoir” even if divorce is part of it. It’s a story about how your sense of belonging can shift before you see that it’s happened and about what is left once it has.

Recommended by Sarah


The Family Fang Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9780061579035
Availability: Special Order
Published: Ecco Press - August 9th, 2011

From what I can tell, this novel was not intended as some larger metaphor for dysfunctional families; but for how specifically dysfunctional they are, this particular (fictional) family could be many---could be your very own! (...Though for your sake, I hope that it isn’t.) “The Family Fang” is as compelling as the characters are destructive, as tender as they are shocking. Somehow the absurdity of their behavior only heightens the humanity of this cast of characters are destructive, as tender as they are shocking. Somehow the absurdity of their behavior only heightens the humanity of this cast of oddballs, and so the result is something refreshingly different from anything that I have read in awhile and nowhere near as goofy as the description may sound.

Recommended by Sarah


Never Let Me Go (Movie Tie-In Edition) Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780307740991
Availability: Not Available
Published: Vintage - August 31st, 2010

Not quite an easy book to read, but quite worthy of the time that you invest in doing so. The difficulty has less to do with the writing and more to do with the plight of the characters – and the ready self-examination which their troubles inspire. In this story you will find “knotted tension” and “anguish”, to be sure. You will also find mystery, adventure, and true heart. It is rare to meet fictional people that you will care about so deeply that your life will seem bigger for reading their story.


The Catcher in the Rye Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316769488
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - May 1991

Your first introduction to this book may have been as “required reading” for a high school English class with a teacher who – try as he/she might – failed to convey the humor and poignancy of the story. The language may be a bit dated (all slang goes the way of the dodo, eventually) but the relevance of the subject matter endures. My vote is that you give it a[nother] chance, it may surprise you! Because...
Among other things, you’ll find that you’re not the first person who was ever confused and frightened and even sickened by human behavior. You’re by no means alone on that score, you’ll be excited and stimulated to know” – J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye


Rose Elliot's New Complete Vegetarian Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781402778957
Availability: Not Available
Published: Sterling - October 5th, 2010

Whether you are vegetarian or not this cookbook should be considered a kitchen essential. I have never seen so many compelling dishes listed in one new volume with vegan AND vegetarian variations, all of them tantalizing enough to entice me into ignoring meat for a while - if only until I've gotten through all of the recipes!


La Perdida Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780375714719
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon Books - May 20th, 2008

La Perdida is a perfect graphic novel. In fact, the interplay of illustrations with story arc and dialogue create such a tangible environment that I’m not sure the voice and setting would have translated as keenly if Jessica Abel had written “La Perdida” in the traditional novel format. I found Carla’s romantic (NOT “romance”, romantic) quest to “find herself” and all of the accompanying UNromantic follies and foibles to be entertaining, thought-provoking, and familiar. We all, to a lesser extent, know or have been Carla.


Succeed: How We Can Reach Our Goals Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781594630736
Availability: Not Available
Published: Hudson Street Press - December 23rd, 2010

Written with clarity and scientific rigor as well as a healthy dose of humor, this is probably one of the most responsibly researched and well-presented books on goal achievement that you will ever read. You will learn: What has gotten in the way of achievement; how you set goals that you’re not conscious of; tools for assessing future goals; and why the “think positive” motto doesn’t ensure success. For fans of John Medina and Mary Roach.


Ignore Everybody: And 39 Other Keys to Creativity Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781591842590
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Portfolio - June 11th, 2009

I read this book in ONE sitting. I tried to put it down, but I couldn’t – which, I think, is a bit unheard of for books with an “advice-giving” tone. Well, now you’re heard [read] it! DO YOU HAVE A PERSONAL ‘MT. EVEREST’? (It’s likely that you do.) Even if you don’t know where/what it is, this book is sure to help you set about locating it. Like a conversation with a good friend, MacLeod’s insights are provided in the clearest and cleanest style possible. Bonus points to the author for all the wee illustrations!


Never Let Me Go Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781400078776
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage Books USA - March 14th, 2006

Not quite an easy book to read, but quite worthy of the time that you invest in doing so. The difficulty has less to do with the writing and more to do with the plight of the characters – and the ready self-examination which their troubles inspire. In this story you will find “knotted tension” and “anguish”, to be sure. You will also find mystery, adventure, and true heart. It is rare to meet fictional people that you will care about so deeply that your life will seem bigger for reading their story.