Vroman's is OPEN for in-store shopping & curbside pick-up seven days a week.

FREE DOMESTIC SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $100!

Ashlee's Staff Picks

×

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Ashlee is the manager of the Children's Department

Staff Pick Badge
Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King (The Guardians #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781442430495
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - September 4th, 2018
Add to Wish List

This may be a Santa origin story but it is definitely a story for year round! Sword fights, magic, science, good vs. evil, and change of heart. This opener to the Guardians series is devour-able! Also makes a great read aloud!


Staff Pick Badge
Wishtree (Special Edition): Adult Edition Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250306869
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - January 8th, 2019
Add to Wish List

Narrated by an old oak tree, this story is about a town, friendship, and choices. It will tug at your heart strings and if you ever doubted hope, this book will make you believe.


Staff Pick Badge
The Cardboard Kingdom Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781524719388
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2018
Add to Wish List

The greatest representation of kid's imagination I have ever read. A summer filled with friendship, real life and adventure. I was so attached to these characters and their stories that as soon as I finished it, I read it again. 5 out of 5 stars!


Staff Pick Badge
Brave Enough for Two: A Hoot & Olive Story Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250127488
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - June 12th, 2018
Add to Wish List

This is a story about comfort zones, trust, bravery, and most importantly, friendship. A soul warming story to share with those you love. Perfect for fans of Winnie the Pooh and The Velveteen Rabbit. A modern classic in the making.


Staff Pick Badge
They All Saw A Cat (Cat Books for Kids, Beginning Reading Books, Preschool Prep Books) Cover Image
By Brendan Wenzel (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452150130
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - August 30th, 2016
Add to Wish List

A wonderful, whimsical look at perspective! Simple yet thought provoking. A wonderful conversation starter and just a brilliant book. Perfect for families, artists, philosophers, and all imaginative picture book lovers!


Staff Pick Badge
Super Happy Magic Forest Cover Image
By Matty Long, Matty Long (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545860598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - February 23rd, 2016
Add to Wish List

Adventure Time meets Lord of the Rings in this graphic novel-ish picture book. Definitely as much for parents as it is for kids! You'll find something new among the illustrations every time you read it!


Staff Pick Badge
The Great Pet Escape (Pets on the Loose!) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781627791069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks - February 16th, 2016
Add to Wish List

Two words. Rodentia. Puns. This short story will have you laughing out loud. Now you’ll know what your classroom pets are up to when everyone goes home. This made for a fun read aloud as well and I hope to see more of our new friends!


Staff Pick Badge
Secret Coders Cover Image
By Gene Luen Yang, Mike Holmes (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781626720756
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - September 29th, 2015
Add to Wish List

MYSTERY, FRIENDSHIP and an intro into BINARY! What more could you ask for in a graphic novel called “Secret Coders”? Gene Luen Yang doesn’t disappoint and I am so excited to read the rest of the series.


Staff Pick Badge
Circus Mirandus Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780147515544
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - August 16th, 2016
Add to Wish List

A beautiful story about family, friendship, magic and miracles. You'll laugh and if you're anything like me you'll cry but this story will stick with you for a lifetime. I just want to give it to everyone I meet!


Staff Pick Badge
To the Sea Cover Image
By Cale Atkinson, Cale Atkinson (Illustrator)
This item is not available.
ISBN: 9781484708132
Availability: Not Available
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 2nd, 2015

The greatest whale to ever whale! Tim meets Sam, a giant blue whale who can’t find his way home. Unlikely friendship ensues and a promise is made. Will Tim be able to keep his promise? Find out in this beautifully illustrated book.


Staff Pick Badge
Monster on the Hill (Expanded Edition) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781603094917
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Top Shelf Productions - December 8th, 2020
Add to Wish List

Hilarious and endearing! Every town has a monster and the townspeople are both terrified and proud of them. Not only do the monsters terrify but they also protect. Join in on the adventure to help Rayburn find his scary and his ambition.


Staff Pick Badge
A Tale Dark and Grimm Cover Image
By Adam Gidwitz, Dan Santat (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142419670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - August 18th, 2011
Add to Wish List

Reminiscent of Lemony Snicket, Roald Dahl, and 13 Clocks. This book was surprisingly dark! I really enjoyed the interrupting narrator and if you like sass and gore you should pick this up. Ages 10+ but I think teens and adults would enjoy this too! Don't let the cover fool you, this book is bloody and intense. But. So. Good!!!