0 Items $0.00

Ashlee's Staff Picks

Ashlee is the manager of the Children's Department

 

 

 

The Cardboard Kingdom Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781524719388
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2018

The greatest representation of kid's imagination I have ever read. A summer filled with friendship, real life and adventure. I was so attached to these characters and their stories that as soon as I finished it, I read it again. 5 out of 5 stars!


Brave Enough for Two: A Hoot & Olive Story Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250127488
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - June 12th, 2018

This is a story about comfort zones, trust, bravery, and most importantly, friendship. A soul warming story to share with those you love. Perfect for fans of Winnie the Pooh and The Velveteen Rabbit. A modern classic in the making.


They All Saw A Cat (Cat Books for Kids, Beginning Reading Books, Preschool Prep Books) Cover Image
By Brendan Wenzel (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452150130
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - August 30th, 2016

A wonderful, whimsical look at perspective! Simple yet thought provoking. A wonderful conversation starter and just a brilliant book. Perfect for families, artists, philosophers, and all imaginative picture book lovers!


Super Happy Magic Forest Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545860598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - February 23rd, 2016

Adventure Time meets Lord of the Rings in this graphic novel-ish picture book. Definitely as much for parents as it is for kids! You'll find something new among the illustrations every time you read it!


The Great Pet Escape (Pets on the Loose!) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781627791069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks - February 16th, 2016

Two words. Rodentia. Puns. This short story will have you laughing out loud. Now you’ll know what your classroom pets are up to when everyone goes home. This made for a fun read aloud as well and I hope to see more of our new friends!


Secret Coders Cover Image
By Gene Luen Yang, Mike Holmes (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781626720756
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - September 29th, 2015

MYSTERY, FRIENDSHIP and an intro into BINARY! What more could you ask for in a graphic novel called “Secret Coders”? Gene Luen Yang doesn’t disappoint and I am so excited to read the rest of the series.


Circus Mirandus Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525428435
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - June 2nd, 2015

A beautiful story about family, friendship, magic and miracles. You'll laugh and if you're anything like me you'll cry but this story will stick with you for a lifetime. I just want to give it to everyone I meet!


To the Sea Cover Image
By Cale Atkinson, Cale Atkinson (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781484708132
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - June 2nd, 2015

The greatest whale to ever whale! Tim meets Sam, a giant blue whale who can’t find his way home. Unlikely friendship ensues and a promise is made. Will Tim be able to keep his promise? Find out in this beautifully illustrated book.


Fred Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781441317315
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability

Published: Peter Pauper Press, Inc - April 20th, 2015

Growing up can be fun and exciting but sometimes we lose our imagination along the way. This story embraces finding it again as an adult with beautiful illustrations and a change meeting. A perfect gift for someone who needs a little inspiration.


Monster on the Hill Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781603090759
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Top Shelf Productions - August 6th, 2013

Hilarious and endearing! Every town has a monster and the townspeople are both terrified and proud of them. Not only do the monsters terrify but they also protect. Join in on the adventure to help Rayburn find his scary and his ambition.


A Tale Dark and Grimm Cover Image
By Adam Gidwitz, Dan Santat (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142419670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - August 18th, 2011

Reminiscent of Lemony Snicket, Roald Dahl, and 13 Clocks. This book was surprisingly dark! I really enjoyed the interrupting narrator and if you like sass and gore you should pick this up. Ages 10+ but I think teens and adults would enjoy this too! Don't let the cover fool you, this book is bloody and intense. But. So. Good!!!