Vroman's Main Store & Hastings Ranch location will be closing early on Sunday, June 11th at 6pm.
Regular store hours will resume on Monday, June 12th.  

The Collected Poetry of Nikki Giovanni: 1968-1998 (Paperback)

The Collected Poetry of Nikki Giovanni: 1968-1998 By Nikki Giovanni Cover Image
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore (Colorado Blvd.)
1 on hand, as of Jun 9 4:04am


The complete early work of the renowned African-American poet.

 “Nikki Giovanni is one of our national treasures.”—Gloria Naylor

This omnibus includes her first seven volumes of poetry from her early years, 1967 to 1983: Black Feeling Black Talk; Black Judgement; Re: Creation; My House; The Women and the Men; Cotton Candy on a Rainy Day; and Those Who Ride the Night Winds. A timeless classic, it is both a reflection of the changes in her own life and an evocation of a nation’s past and its present.

About the Author

Nikki Giovanni, poet, activist, mother, and professor, is a seven-time NAACP Image Award winner and the first recipient of the Rosa Parks Woman of Courage Award, and holds the Langston Hughes Medal for Outstanding Poetry, among many other honors. The author of twenty-eight books and a Grammy nominee for The Nikki Giovanni Poetry Collection, she is the University Distinguished Professor of English at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Virginia.

Praise For…

“One of the finest poets of our time. . . Her work still resonates.” — Ebony

“Fiery yet personal . . . an ample and diligent introduction, chronology and notes to individual works.” — Publishers Weekly

“Wise and mischievous, Giovanni is a must-read at every stage if her happily, still growing oeuvre.” — Booklist

“What a powerful first impression she made. This collection of early work is an excellent reminder.” — Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780060724290
ISBN-10: 0060724293
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: January 23rd, 2007
Pages: 512
Language: English