0 Items $0.00

Please call 626-449-5320 to check the availability of this item. 

Sarah, Plain and Tall (Paperback)

Sarah, Plain and Tall Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore
3 on hand, as of Oct 22 12:15pm
(40 NEWBERY AWARD)
Vroman's Hastings Ranch
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 12:30pm
(40 NEWBERY AWARD)

Description


This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

About the Author


Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless novels for young readers, including Newbery Medal winner Sarah, Plain and Tall; Word After Word After Word; Kindred Souls; The Truth of Me; The Poet’s Dog; and My Father’s Words. She is also the author of countless beloved picture books, a number of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily. She lives in Williamsburg, Massachusetts.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062399526
ISBN-10: 0062399527
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2015
Pages: 112
Language: English
Series: Sarah, Plain and Tall