0 Items $0.00

Please call 626-449-5320 to check the availability of this item. 

Bad Magic (The Bad Books #1) (Paperback)

Bad Magic (The Bad Books #1) Cover Image
$8.00
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore
2 on hand, as of Jun 25 5:15am
(40 JR. FICTION)
Vroman's Hastings Ranch
1 on hand, as of Jun 25 5:15am
(40 JR. SERIES)

Description


The magical, bestselling series from Pseudonymous Bosch, the author of the Secret Series!

Magic is BAD.
As in fake. Cheesy. Unreal. At least, that's what Clay, who has seen one magic show too many, thinks.

When words from his journal appear mysteriously on his school wall as graffiti, he never imagines that magic might be to blame. And when the same graffiti lands him at Earth Ranch, a camp for "troubled" kids on a remote volcanic island, magic is the last thing he expects to find there.

But at Earth Ranch, there is one strange surprise after another, until Clay no longer knows what to expect. Is he really talking to a llama? Did he really see a ghost? What is the scary secret hidden in the abandoned library? The only thing he knows for sure is that behind the clouds of vog (volcanic smog), nothing is as it seems. Can he solve the riddle of Earth Ranch before trouble erupts?

Elusive author Pseudonymous Bosch introduces an extraordinary new series that will have you believing in the unbelievable.

About the Author


Pseudonymous Bosch is the infamously anonymous author of the New York Times bestselling Secret Series. Despite rumors to the contrary, his books are not actually written by his pet rabbit, Quiche; the rabbit is merely his typist.

Praise For…


Praise for Bad Magic:
"Bosch employs, to great effect, his signature irreverence and hilarity... a delight to read. Bad Magic is a clever and playful novel. An excellent addition to middle grade fiction collections."—School Library Journal

"Enjoyable... Bosch's arch narrative voice carries over from his previous books...From The Tempest and Lord of the Flies to shows like Gilligan's Island and Lost, cultural allusions abound as Clay tries to understand the island's many mysteries and meets his fellow campers. Gilbert's watercolors bring in additional humor."—Publishers Weekly

[Bad Magic] contains threads of mystery, magic, word games, and snark... It is suspenseful, humorous, clever, and most importantly, fun. Bad Magic is definitely entertaining for a wide range of readers.—Voya

"...Bosch's mix of slapstick silliness, sly authorial asides, and magical adventure will appeal to readers of Lemony Snicket and M. T. Anderson's Pals in Peril series."—Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316320399
ISBN-10: 0316320390
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 22nd, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: The Bad Books