Vroman's is OPEN for in-store shopping & curbside pick-up seven days a week.
FREE DOMESTIC SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $100!

Dog Driven (Paperback)

×

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)
Dog Driven Cover Image
$7.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore (Colorado Blvd.)
1 on hand, as of Oct 16 3:18pm
(40 MIDDLE GRADE FICT)

Description


From the author of Ice Dogs comes a riveting adventure about a musher who sets out to prove her impaired vision won't hold her back from competing in a rigorous sled race through the Canadian wilderness. Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen.

McKenna Barney is trying to hide her worsening eyesight and has been isolating herself for the last year. But at the request of her little sister, she signs up for a commemorative mail run race in the Canadian wilderness—a race she doesn’t know if she can even see to run. 
 
Winning would mean getting her disease—and her sister’s—national media coverage, but it would also pit McKenna and her team of eight sled dogs against racers from across the globe for three days of shifting lake ice, sudden owl attacks, snow squalls, and bitterly cold nights.

A page-turning adventure about living with disability and surviving the wilderness, Dog Driven is the story of one girl’s self-determination and the courage it takes to trust in others.

About the Author


Terry Lynn Johnson, author of Ice Dogs, Sled Dog School, Dog Driven and the Survivor Diaries series, lives in Whitefish Falls, Ontario where for ten years she owned a team of eighteen Alaskan Huskies.

www.terrylynnjohnson.com
Twitter:@TerryLynnJ

Praise For…


*"A densely plotted, fast-moving, thematically rich tale set at the intersection of ability and disability."—Kirkus, STARRED review

*"Johnson’s personal experience of living in Ontario with her own team of Alaskan huskies shines through this book, which bracingly captures the excitement and trepidation of McKenna’s adventure." —Booklist, STARRED Review

"Guy and McKenna are well developed, and the action is captivating." —School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9780358447702
ISBN-10: 0358447704
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: March 30th, 2021
Pages: 240
Language: English