Vroman's is OPEN for in-store shopping & curbside pick-up seven days a week.
FREE DOMESTIC SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $100!

PLEASE NOTE: Due to recent changes to Chrome and Opera browsers some customers are unable to complete
the checkout process. To resolve this issue it is necessary to clear your browser cache or use a different browser.

If you prefer, please call us at 626-449-5320 and we will process your order over the phone.
We apologize for the inconvenience.

McTeague (Mass Market)

×

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)
McTeague Cover Image
By Frank Norris, Eric Solomon (Introduction by), Vince Passaro (Afterword by)
$7.95
Add to Wish List
Usually arrives at our store within 4-7 days

Description


A lesser-known American classic, McTeague explores the darker side of success and the pitfalls of marriage for a turn-of-the-century couple.

McTeague is the story of a poor dentist scraping by in San Francisco at the end of the 19th century, and his wife Trina, whose $5,000 lottery winning sets in motion a shocking chain of events. Fans of Jack London and Theodore Dreiser will appreciate the richly crafted prose and the historically accurate portrayal of 19th century America. Few works have captured the seamy side of American urban life with such graphic intensity.

About the Author


Alfred Kazin (1915–1998) was one of the most distinguished literary critics of the twentieth century. His numerous books include the highly acclaimed On Native Ground: An Interpretation of Modern American Prose Literature.

Praise For…


“One of the great works of the modern American imagination.”—Alfred Kazin
Product Details
ISBN: 9780451531971
ISBN-10: 0451531973
Publisher: Signet
Publication Date: December 6th, 2011
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Signet Classics