Requiem (Paperback)

Requiem By Giuseppe Verdi Cover Image
Add to Wish List
Usually arrives at our store within 4-7 days


"From the purely artistic and musical points of view the Requiem is certainly Verdi's greatest work to this date and an astounding manifestation of ... continual progress and inner development. The stream of melodic invention is unfailing and of the highest quality. Most impressive of all is the mastery of form, of constructive power on the largest scale." -- Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Composed in 1874 for the first anniversary of the death of Alessandro Manzoni, Verdi's Requiem reveals the composer at the height of his powers. The work, immensely popular with choral groups and music lovers, is frequently performed in concert, and numerous recordings are available. The study score of this rich and dramatic work, called by some as Verdi's greatest opera, is presented here complete and unabridged, and in a fine, clear modern edition.
Scored for four solo voices (soprano, mezzo soprano, tenor, bass), chorus, and orchestra, the Requiem is divided into seven sections:
No. 1 Requiem
No. 2 Dies irae
No. 3 Offertorio
No. 4 Sanctus
No 5. Agnus Dei
No 6. Lux aeterna
No 7. Libera me
The music has been reproduced in a size large enough to be read easily, with large noteheads, wide margins (for written notes, annotations, etc.), and on opaque paper with sturdy, sewn bindings. Pages lie flat and will not fall out. The edition is practical for almost any use, whether as a study guide, a reference, or an indispensable companion for your greater musical enjoyment.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780486236827
ISBN-10: 048623682X
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: October 1st, 1978
Pages: 208
Language: English
Series: Dover Music Scores