Vroman's is OPEN for in-store shopping & curbside pick-up seven days a week.

London Symphonies Nos. 99-104 in Full Score (Dover Music Scores) (Paperback)


Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)
London Symphonies Nos. 99-104 in Full Score (Dover Music Scores) Cover Image
Add to Wish List
Usually arrives at our store within 4-7 days


It was in his monumental 12 London symphonies, composed between 1791 and 1795, that Haydn shaped the early form of the symphony and set the standard for later composers. According to the New Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the appeal of these works stems from their stature as grand symphonies, embodying a broader presentation of musical ideas and themes and motifs of a basic simplicity and immediate appeal.
The present volume contains the last six symphonies in the series, including the lively Military Symphony (No. 100), the delightful Clock Symphony (No. 101), and the world-famous London Symphony (No. 104).
Scores included in this volume are Symphony No. 99 in E-flat Major; Symphony No. 100 in G Major (Military); Symphony No. 101 in D Major (The Clock); Symphony No. 102 in B-flat Major; Symphony No. 103 in E-flat Major (Dumroll); and Symphony No. 104 in D Major (London).
The attractive qualities of these works have made them perennial favorites with musicians and concertgoers for over two hundred years. Now music lovers can study and enjoy the elegant structure and polished orchestration of these enduring masterpieces in this authoritative full-score edition.

About the Author

Austrian composer Joseph Haydn (1732-1809), one of the most prolific and prominent musicians of the Classical era, wrote in every genre. Friend to Mozart and teacher of Beethoven, he standardized the four-movement structure of the quartet, the form for which he is best known.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780486406978
ISBN-10: 0486406970
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: March 17th, 1999
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Dover Music Scores