Vroman's is OPEN for in-store shopping & curbside pick-up seven days a week.
FREE DOMESTIC SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $100!

Boogie Bass, Sign Language Star (After-School Superstars) (Paperback)

×

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)
Boogie Bass, Sign Language Star (After-School Superstars) Cover Image
By Claudia Mills, Grace Zong (Illustrator)
$7.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore (Colorado Blvd.)
2 on hand, as of Oct 18 11:03am
(40 JR. SERIES)

Description


Boogie Bass feels like he can't do anything right, but when he joins an after-school American Sign Language club, he turns out to be a natural!

The After-School Superstars--Nixie Ness, Vera Vance, Nolan Nada, and Boogie Bass--are back in a new after-school adventure starring Boogie. He is clumsy and goofy, but now that he is at the American Sign Language camp at his school, he finds his hidden talent. He may not believe in himself, but the rest of his class does, especially when they visit a school for the Deaf and Boogie leads the way with his exuberant personality helping students to learn about each other and make new friends.

Vetted by an expert from Gallaudet University and complete with additional material full of facts about American Sign Language, Boogie Bass is an excellent addition to The After-School Superstar series. Each book features recurring characters and highlights one activity they do at their after-school program, along with illustrations in black and white. The series is perfect for fans of Judy Moody, Ivy and Bean, and Clementine.
 
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
 

Praise for Nixie Ness: Cooking Star
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
 
"Young readers will easily relate to this wholesome look at early friendships and conflicts."--School Library Journal

"Likeable Nixie creates a terrific recipe for winning back old friends and making lots of new ones."--Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Vera Vance: Comics Star
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

"Vera's shyness will be appreciated and understood by many readers . . . and the lovely wrap-up shows how every personality type and situation can find a way to use their strengths to reach their goals."--Kirkus Reviews

"Budding artists will appreciate the respect for and information about the comics process and relate to Vera's joy at immersing herself in her beloved pastime." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Author


Claudia Mills has written many children's books, including 7 x 9 = Trouble!, the Franklin School Friends series, and the Mason Dixon series. She received the Kerlan Award for her contribution to children's literature. Ms. Mills lives in Boulder, Colorado.

Grace Zong has illustrated many books for children, including Our Food: A Healthy Serving of Science and Poems by Grace Lin, Goldy Luck and the Three Pandas by Natasha Yim, Pippa and Percival, Pancake and Poppy: Four Peppy Puppies by Deborah Diesen, and Mrs. McBee Leaves Room 3 by Gretchen Brandenburg McLellan. She divides her time between South Korea and New York.

Praise For…


★ "The four After-School Superstars return in this wholesome look at how kids can overcome their own fears and insecurities by being true to themselves. . . . Charming black-and-white illustrations add to the appeal of the text."School Library Journal, Starred Review

"The author has clearly been exposed to Deaf culture and makes a valiant effort to educate readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"Boogie is a well-rounded character; he is kind and conscientious and learns to not be so tough on himself. . . . The book also captures the non-manual markers necessary for ASL. . . ."The Horn Book
Product Details
ISBN: 9780823449361
ISBN-10: 082344936X
Publisher: Margaret Ferguson Books
Publication Date: August 3rd, 2021
Pages: 128
Language: English
Series: After-School Superstars