The Great Cool Ranch Dorito in the Sky (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Great Cool Ranch Dorito in the Sky By Josh Galarza Cover Image
$19.99
Add to Wish List
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

July/August 2024 Kids Indie Next List


“Brett’s voice — wise-cracking, sensitive, emotionally raw — carries this story with a surprisingly light hand. Every page holds love. Every page is a nudge towards self-acceptance. This hero story absolutely demolished my heart.”
— Emmy Widener, Changing Hands Bookstore & First Draft Book Bar, Phoenix, AZ

Description


Perfect for fans of Mark Oshiro and Adam Silvera comes a fiercely funny and hopeful story of one boy's attempts to keep everything under control while life has other plans.

Ever since cancer invaded his adoptive mother’s life, Brett feels like he’s losing everything, most of all control. To cope, Brett fuels all of his anxieties into epic fantasies, including his intergalactic Kid Condor comic book series, which features food constellations and characters not unlike those in his own life.

But lately Brett’s grip on reality has started to lose its hold. The fictions he’s been telling himself – about his unattractive body, the feeling that he’s a burden to his best friend, that he’s too messed up to be loved – have consumed him completely, and Brett will do anything to forget about the cosmic-sized hole in his chest, even if it's unhealthy.

But when Brett’s journal and deepest insecurities are posted online for the whole school to see, Brett realizes he can no longer avoid the painful truths of his real-life narrative. As his eating disorder escalates, Brett must be honest with the people closest to him, including his new and fierce friend Mallory who seems to know more about Brett’s issues than he does. With their support, he just might find the courage to face the toughest reality of all.

Praise For…


"Brett’s quirky voice . . . tempers this funny yet bruising narrative about one teen’s experience with grief and disordered eating in which debut author Galarza carefully touches on issues surrounding underage drinking, body dysmorphia, and internalized anti-fatness." —Publishers Weekly, starred review
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250907714
ISBN-10: 1250907713
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: July 23rd, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English