Vroman's is OPEN for in-store shopping & curbside pick-up seven days a week.
FREE DOMESTIC SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $100!

The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain (MP3 CD)

×

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)
The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain Cover Image
By George Lakoff, Kent Cassella (Narrated by)
This item is not available.
Out of Print

Description


In What's the Matter with Kansas? Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why. As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures we've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain-and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another-or building a whole new narrative altogether-can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isn't like changing your body-it's the same thing. But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it. This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

About the Author


George Lakoff is the Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley and the author of "Don't Think of an Elephant!"

Kent Cassella is an actor who divides his time between Vermont and New York. Television and film credits include all of the "Law and Order" franchise shows, FX's "Rescue Me," Showtime's "Brotherhood," and the Ben Affleck film "The Town."

Praise For…


"Kent Cassella gives an appropriately somber reading of this scholarly material." ---Library Journal Audio Review

Product Details
ISBN: 9781400158096
ISBN-10: 1400158095
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Publication Date: August 1st, 2008
Language: English