Vroman's is OPEN for in-store shopping & curbside pick-up seven days a week.
FREE DOMESTIC SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $100!

Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets: A Muslim Book of Shapes (Paperback)

×

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)
Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets: A Muslim Book of Shapes Cover Image
By Hena Khan, Mehrdokht Amini (Illustrator)
$7.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore (Colorado Blvd.)
2 on hand, as of Sep 26 7:03pm
(40 RELIGION)
Vroman's Hastings Ranch
2 on hand, as of Sep 26 8:18pm
(40 RELIGION)

Description


Magnificently capturing the shapes of Islam, this acclaimed book that inspired curiosity and conversations about world religions and cultures is now available in paperback.

From a crescent moon to a square garden to an octagonal fountain, this breathtaking picture book celebrates the shapes-and traditions—of the Muslim world. With stunning illustrations, a rhyming read-aloud text, and strong backmatter, Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets will inspire questions and observations about world religions and cultures, and is equally at home in a classroom reading circle as it is being read to a child on a parent's lap.

• A BOOK ABOUT MUSLIM CULTURE, CREATED BY MUSLIMS: There is a desperate need for books about diverse cultures, created by people originating from that culture, including books about Islam and contemporary Muslim life. Both the writer and illustrator identify as Muslim: The illustrator is Iranian and lives in London, while the writer is Pakistani American and lives in Rockville, Maryland.
• COMPELLING AUTHOR: Hena Khan is a dynamic, charismatic speaker, who does 40 school, community center, and mosque visits a year, and regularly sells out spaces that hold 300+ people. She is active in her local Muslim community as well as the larger Muslim writing community, regularly speaking on panels and attending conferences.
• AWARD-WINNING ILLUSTRATOR: Mehrdokht Amini received the 2016 Children's Africana Book Award for her book Chicken in the Kitchen and has been nominated for the prestigious Kate Greenaway medal.
• AN EFFECTIVE WAY TO COUNTER ANTI-MUSLIM BULLYING: There is nothing like reading books to understand another culture and increase understanding and empathy.

Perfect for:

• Teachers and librarians
• Families looking for books that reflect their faith and identity
• Families who want to introduce Islam or other cultures to children
• Fans of Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns, Night of the Moon, and/or Hena Khan and Mehrdokht Amini's other publishing
• Anyone looking for #ownvoices and #WNDB

About the Author


Hena Khan is the author of Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns: A Muslim Book of Colors, Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets: A Muslim Book of Shapes, Night of the Moon: A Muslim Holiday Story, Like the Moon Loves the Sky, and other books for children. Hena is a native of Rockville, Maryland, where she lives with her husband and their two sons. You can learn more about her at www.henakhan.com.

Mehrdokht Amini is an Iranian-born children's book illustrator. She has been nominated for a Kate Greenaway Medal and been invited to participate in the prestigious Biennial of Illustrations Bratislava. She lives in the United Kingdom.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781452182742
ISBN-10: 1452182744
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: March 9th, 2021
Pages: 36
Language: English