0 Items $0.00

Please call 626-449-5320 to check the availability of this item. 

The List (Paperback)

The List Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore
2 on hand, as of Dec 11 8:30am
(40 MIDDLE GRADE FICT)
Vroman's Hastings Ranch
1 on hand, as of Dec 11 8:30am
(40 MIDDLE GRADE FICT)

Description


Age Level: 10 and up - Grade Level: 5 to 8

"The fantasy book of the year."--EOIN COLFER, bestselling author of Artemis Fowl

Fahrenheit 451 meets The Giver for middle grade readers

You are The Wordsmith now. Are you ready for the challenge?

The city of Ark is the last safe place on Earth. To make sure humans are able to survive, everyone in Ark must speak List, a language of only 500 words.
Everyone that is, except Letta.

As apprentice to the Wordsmith, Letta can read all the words that have ever existed. Forbidden words like freedom, music, and even pineapple tell her about a world she's never known.

One day her master disappears and the leaders of Ark tell Letta she is the new Wordsmith and must shorten List to fewer and fewer words. Then Letta meets a teenage boy who somehow knows all the words that have been banned. Letta's faced with a dangerous choice: sit idly by and watch language slowly slip away or follow a stranger on a path to freedom . . . or banishment.

Great for parents and educators looking for: A story about the importance of words and languageA beautifully written narrative suitable for young adults as well as middle grade readersA story featuring a strong, brave female character

Perfect for young readers who loved Farenheit 451, The Giver, and The City of Ember

A 2018 Notable Children's Books Selection
A 2018-19 Maine Student Book Award Winner
A 2018 Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book of the Year (Ages 12-14)
A Junior Library Guild Selection

Product Details
ISBN: 9781492660859
ISBN-10: 149266085X
Publisher: Sourcebooks Young Readers
Publication Date: June 5th, 2018
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: List

Holiday Catalog