0 Items $0.00

Please call 626-449-5320 to check the availability of this item. 

Dark Fissures: A Rick Cahill Novel (Paperback)

Dark Fissures: A Rick Cahill Novel Cover Image
$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the The Rick Cahill Series series.

Description


Private Investigator Rick Cahill fears the next knock on his door will be a cop holding a warrant for his arrest. For murder. La Jolla Chief of Police Tony Moretti is convinced Rick killed a missing person. No body has been found, but the evidence that’s piling up says murder and it all points to Rick. With Moretti on his tail and the bank about to foreclose on his house, Rick takes a paying case that will stave off the bank, but pits him against Moretti and the La Jolla Police Department.

Brianne Colton, a beautiful country singer, is convinced her estranged husband’s suicide was really murder. Rick is unconvinced, but the mortgage has to be paid. Each new piece of evidence convinces him she’s right. He breaks his number one rule and falls for Brianne even, as he begins to question her motives.

As Moretti cinches the vise tighter, with Rick unable to trust the FBI, evil forces emerge from the shadows who will do anything, including torture and murder, to stop Rick from uncovering the truth.

About the Author


Best-selling author Matt Coyle is the winner of the Anthony Award, the Benjamin Franklin Silver Award, and the San Diego Book Award. Matt has a degree in English from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and has worked in the restaurant, golf, and sports collectible businesses. Dark Fissures is the third in his Rick Cahill crime series, following Yesterday’s Echo and Night tremors. Matt lives in San Diego with his yellow Lab, Angus.

Praise For…


"Anthony Award–winner Coyle's gripping third Rick Cahill novel (after 2015's Night Tremors) finds the vulnerable, well-meaning La Jolla, Calif., PI in fear of losing his house to a bank foreclosure. Even worse, the town's police chief, Tony Moretti, is preparing to arrest Rick for murder in a case involving a missing person as soon as he gets enough evidence. Meanwhile, singer Brianne Colton hires Cahill to prove that her police officer husband, Jim, didn't commit suicide but was murdered. Jim didn’t trust Moretti, which puts Cahill in a tough position. The detective must also contend with criminal lawyer Alan Rankin, who once took a beating from Cahill. A kick in the nose from Rankin's assistant, mixed martial arts–expert Miranda Jennings, is a reminder that Rankin hasn't forgiven Cahill, though Miranda later provides some unexpected help in the Colton case. The deck is stacked against Cahill, but he comes up trumps by the end of this satisfying hard-boiled adventure." —Publishers Weekly

"I think I'm falling for Rick Cahill. He's the best kind of down-on-his-luck detective: hard-boiled yet vulnerable; gritty but gallant; somewhat of a screw-up but noble to the core; droll yet all heart. I'll follow him anywhere. Coyle's writing was terrific out of the gate but still manages to get even better."—Kristi Belcamino, Anthony, Barry, and Macavity award nominee

Matt Coyle's Dark Fissures is a meticulously plotted detective novel with such fast and continuous action that neither the cars nor the gun barrels ever cool down. Go buy it. —Thomas Perry, Edgar Award-winning author

"Dark Fissures is a roller coaster ride through the streets of San Diego. Tightly plotted with memorable characters. An outstanding read! —C. J. Box, New York Times best-selling author

"Private eye Cahill is in hot water in third Coyle series offering. Private investigator Rick Cahill is being framed for the murder of a missing person and, to make matters worse, the bank is about to foreclose on his house. To stave off the bank, Cahill takes a paying case, but this only draws more negative attention from the La Jolla Police Department, and soon he finds himself dodging not only the police chief and the FBI, but also some highly unsavory characters who will stop at nothing to ensure the truth stays under wraps." —Fresno Bee

"Matt Coyle has done it again." —La Jolla Village News

"Private Investigator Rick Cahill fears the next knock on his door will be a cop holding a warrant for his arrest. For murder. La Jolla Chief of Police Tony Moretti is convinced Rick killed a missing person. No body has been found, but the evidence that’s piling up says murder and it all points to Rick. With Moretti on his tail and the bank about to foreclose on his house, Rick takes a paying case that will stave off the bank, but pits him against Moretti and the La Jolla Police Department." —San Francisco Book Review

"…an engrossing story, well written, and of course ending with the makings of the next book in this series. Certainly Matt Coyle will intrigue the reader with both the plots and characterizations presented." —BookBitch.com

"Hi-adrenaline, fast paced, a series with non-stop danger and action and a troubled PI, to love. What an adventure! Coyle is a talented author to follow! Powerful plot planning, and rich character development. Fans of Michael Connelly (Harry Bosch), David Baldacci, and J. Carson Black (Cyril Landry) will enjoy this well-written series. Highly recommend reading all the books in the series, for the full background of the highly entertaining Rick Cahill. Can't wait for the next ride." —JDC Must Read Books

"Each installment sets the hardboiled thriller bar higher, making Dark Fissures my number one Top Pick for 2016." —Dean Murphy, Bookreporter.com

"Coyle's latest Rick Cahill novel is a gripping fast-paced, page-turner that will hook readers from page one and not let go until the end. The protagonist is a noir-ish, dark hero who’s a loner, a cynic yet a surprising romantic at heart. The to the point, decisive 1st person narrative works well with the star’s curious, suspicious nature. Plus the author being a native of the area brings an intimate feel to every scene. This keeper shelf must read will appeal to both sexes and all fans of engaging plot driven thrillers. Fans of Michael Connelly and Nelson DeMille will love this!" —Reading Frenzy

"Those who enjoy gritty crime dramas will like Cahill and appreciate Coyle’s writing style. Though this is the third in the series, Dark Fissures is a great place to start." —Booklist

"Intrigue, suspense, emotional and gripping… don't pass this one up!" —InDTale

"If you like tight, fast, dark thrillers, you'll do well to follow Coyle into the dark fissure that runs through Cahill's soul." —Suspense Magazine

"A simply riveting read from cover to cover, Dark Fissures reveals author Matt Coyle's genuine flair for deftly crafted knack for stories replete with memorable characters and unexpected plot twists." —Midwest Book Review

- -
Product Details
ISBN: 9781608092680
ISBN-10: 1608092682
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication Date: November 21st, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: The Rick Cahill Series

Holiday Catalog