0 Items $0.00

Please call 626-449-5320 to check the availability of this item. 

 

Vroman's Celebrates 125 years with special anniversary events

Joy Enough: A Memoir (Paperback)

Joy Enough: A Memoir Cover Image
$15.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Lipsticks applied, novels read, imperfect cakes baked--such memories are recalled with "crystalline perfection" (J. C. Hallmann, Brooklyn Rail) in Sarah McColl's breathtaking testimonial to the joy and pain of loving well. When her mother, Allison, was diagnosed with cancer, McColl dropped everything--including her on- the-rocks marriage--to return to the family farmhouse and fix elaborate meals in the hope of nourishing her back to health. In "thoughtful and finely crafted prose" (Martha Anne Toll, NPR .org) McColl reveals Allison to be an extraordinary woman of infinite love for her unruly brood of children. Mining her dual losses "with humor and charm" (Rachel Kong, New York Times Book Review) to confront her identity as a woman, McColl walks lightly in the footsteps of the woman who came before her. "A gorgeous, painful, exhilarating debut" (Kirstin Valdez- Quade), Joy Enough is an essential guide to clinging fast to the joy left behind, for readers of Ann Hood and Jenny Offill.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781631496639
ISBN-10: 1631496638
Publisher: Liveright Publishing Corporation
Publication Date: January 14th, 2020
Pages: 176
Language: English