The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction (2021) (Hardcover)

The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction (2021) By Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Editor) Cover Image
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now
Vroman's Bookstore (Colorado Blvd.)
1 on hand, as of Jun 5 7:04pm



"You are bound to be wonderstruck."--Lightspeed Magazine
"A must-read."--Locus Magazine
"Highly recommended."--The British Fantasy Society

The world's first ever "year's best" anthology of African speculative fiction. Edited by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction collects twenty-nine stories by twenty-five writers, which the press describes as "some of the most exciting voices, old and new, from Africa and the diaspora, published in the 2020 year."

The anthology includes stories from Somto O. Ihezue, Pemi Aguda, Russell Nichols, Tamara Jer e, Tlotlo Tsamaase, Sheree Ren e Thomas, Tobias S. Buckell, Inegbenoise O. Osagie, Tobi Ogundiran, Chinelo Onwualu, Moustapha Mback Diop, Marian Denise Moore, Michelle Mellon, C.L. Clark, Eugen Bacon, Craig Laurence Gidney, Makena Onjerika, T.L. Huchu, Yvette Lisa Ndlovu, Derek Lubangakene, Suyi Davies Okungbowa, Shingai Njeri Kagunda, WC Dunlap, ZZ Claybourne, and Dilman Dila. As Ekpeki notes, the announcement also includes a list of twenty-one additional notable stories from 2020--an excellent further reading list once you've finished the book.

Ekpeki is the author of "The Witching Hour," which won a 2019 Nommo award, and the co-editor of two other forthcoming anthologies: the nonfiction collection Bridging Worlds: Global Conversations on Creating Pan-African Speculative Literature in a Pandemic (with Zelda Knight) and the speculative fiction collection Africa Risen (with Zelda Knight and Sheree Ren e Thomas).

Product Details
ISBN: 9781647100742
ISBN-10: 1647100747
Publisher: Caezik SF & Fantasy in Partnership with O.D.
Publication Date: April 4th, 2023
Pages: 350
Language: English