Vroman's is OPEN for in-store shopping & curbside pick-up seven days a week.

When It All Syncs Up (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
When It All Syncs Up By Maya Ameyaw Cover Image
$19.99
Add to Wish List
Not Yet Published

Description


A Black teen dancer with dreams of landing a spot in a prestigious ballet company must learn to dance on her own terms in this explosive debut about the healing power of art and friendship, perfect for fans of Euphoria and Tiny Pretty Things.

Ballet is Aisha's life. So when she's denied yet another lead at her elite academy because she doesn't "look" the part, she knows something has to change-the constant discrimination is harming her mental health. Switching to her best friend Neil's art school seems like the perfect plan at first. But she soon discovers racism and bullying are entrenched in the ballet program here, too, and there's a new, troubling distance between her and Neil. And as past traumas surface, pressure from friends and family, a new romance, and questions about her dance career threaten to overwhelm her. There's no choreography to follow-for high school or for healing. Aisha will have to find the strength within herself-and place her trust in others-to make her next move.

About the Author


MAYA AMEYAW is a Toronto-based YA author and mental health advocate. A former bookseller, Maya currently works for InkWell Workshops, a writing group for people with lived experience of mental health issues. With InkWell, she has edited and contributed to four mental-health themed anthologies. Maya also runs the Youtube series and blog Plotting and Scheming, where she interviews YA authors about their writing journeys.Follow @MayaAmeyaw on Twitter!
Product Details
ISBN: 9781773217819
ISBN-10: 177321781X
Publisher: Annick Press
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English