Vroman's is OPEN for in-store shopping & curbside pick-up seven days a week.
FREE DOMESTIC SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $100!

In the Shadow of the Moon: America, Russia, and the Hidden History of the Space Race (Compact Disc)

×

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)
In the Shadow of the Moon: America, Russia, and the Hidden History of the Space Race Cover Image
By Amy Cherrix, Josh Horowitz (Read by)
$29.99
Add to Wish List
Usually arrives at our store within 4-7 days

Description


An exhilarating dive into the secret history of humankind's race to the moon, from acclaimed author Amy Cherrix. This fascinating and immersive read is perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin's Bomb and M. T. Anderson's Symphony for the City of the Dead.

You've heard of the space race, but do you know the whole story?

The most ambitious race humankind has ever undertaken was masterminded in the shadows by two engineers on opposite sides of the Cold War--Wernher von Braun, a former Nazi officer living in the US, and Sergei Korolev, a Russian rocket designer once jailed for crimes against his country--and your textbooks probably never told you.

Von Braun became an American hero, recognized the world over, while Korolev toiled in obscurity. These two brilliant rocketeers never met, but together they shaped the science of spaceflight and redefined modern warfare. From Stalin's brutal Gulag prisons and Hitler's concentration camps to Cape Canaveral and beyond, their simultaneous quests pushed science--and human ingenuity--to the breaking point.

From Amy Cherrix comes the extraordinary hidden story of the space race and the bitter rivalry that launched humankind to the moon.

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781799948872
ISBN-10: 1799948870
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: February 9th, 2021
Language: English