The Duchess Countess: The Woman Who Scandalized Eighteenth-Century London (Large Print / Library Binding)

The Duchess Countess: The Woman Who Scandalized Eighteenth-Century London By Catherine Ostler Cover Image
$32.99
Add to Wish List
Usually arrives at our store within 4-7 days

Description


"

Discover the adventurous life of the stylish and scandalous Elizabeth Chudleigh, Duchess of Kingston--a woman whose infamous trial was bigger news in British society than the American War of Independence. "Bridgerton fans take note: For sheer incident and drama, Chudleigh's story rivals any episode of the popular Regency-era Netflix series. And it's all true" (The Washington Post).


As maid of honor to the Princess of Wales, Elizabeth Chudleigh enjoyed a luxurious life in the inner circle of the Hanoverian court. With her extraordinary style and engaging wit, she both delighted and scandalized the press and public. She would later even inspire William Thackeray when he was writing his classic Vanity Fair, providing the inspiration for the alluring social climber Becky Sharp. But Elizabeth's real story is more complex and surprising than anything out of fiction.


A clandestine, candlelit wedding to the young heir to an earldom, a second marriage to a duke, a lust for diamonds, and an electrifying appearance at a masquerade ball in a gossamer dress--it's no wonder that Elizabeth's eventual trial was a sensation. Charged with bigamy, an accusation she vehemently fought against, Elizabeth refused to submit to public humiliation and retire quietly.


"A superb, gripping, decadent, colorful biography that brings an extraordinary woman and a whole world blazingly to life" (Simon Sebag Montefiore, New York Times bestselling author), The Duchess Countess is perfect for fans of Bridgerton, Women of Means, and The Crown.

"

Product Details
ISBN: 9798885781565
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: September 7th, 2022
Pages: 687
Language: English