0 Items $0.00

Vroman's Live - Kevin O’Leary discusses Madison’s Sorrow

 

Vroman's Live presents Kevin O'Leary on Wednesday May 20th at 6pm

This virtual event will take place on Crowdcast. Register at the event ahead of time to save your spot and to get an email reminder.

EVENT LINK: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/madisons-sorrow

The story of America is the struggle between our liberal ideal and illiberal resistance. Donald Trump catalyzed a reactionary revolution by tapping into the dark, shadowy side of American democracy that embraces exclusion and inequality. Madison's Sorrow shows that throughout American history these alarming impulses have come to the forefront of our culture--during the Civil War, the era of the Robber Barons, and the Civil Rights Movement--but have now come to fruition in the presidency of Donald Trump. Clearly, conservatives have lost their party. And without conservatives debating liberals in an intellectual, respectful manner to address the nation's problems, Madisonian democracy breaks down.

In the tradition of Tomas Paine's Rights of Man and Arthur Schlesinger's The Vital Center, Madison's Sorrow offers a searing critique of the radical right and a passionate defense of the founders' liberal ideal. (Pegasus Books)

Kevin C. O'Leary is a research fellow at the Center for the Study of Democracy at the University of California, Irvine. A contributor to The American Prospect, he was the lead West Coast reporter for TIME, as well as a reporter for the Los Angeles Times. He earned his PhD at Yale University. His previous book, Saving Democracy: A Plan for Real Representation in America, was a finalist for the American Political Science Association's Michael Harrington Award.

EVENT LINK: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/madisons-sorrow

Event date: 
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
Madison's Sorrow: Today's War on the Founders and America's Liberal Ideal Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781643134345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pegasus Books - May 5th, 2020

Store: