0 Items $0.00

Jen

 

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525577942
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - September 25th, 2018

"Well, this is the story all about how, Elizabeth's life got twisted, upside down..." All jokes aside, this is the creepiest book I've read this year. It is the tale of how Elizabeth became a Frankenstein, how her upbringing made her crave companionship and stability, and how in that quest, she accidentally encouraged Victor Frankenstein to become the monster we all know. Kiersten White provides readers with an amazing retelling, while also insterting recognizable tidbits, that fans of the classic will devour. 


Bridge of Clay (Signed Edition) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780375845598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 9th, 2018

International bestselling author of The Book Thief brings us a new story of five brothers, a zoo of pets, a mistake maker and a murderer. Leaving readers in chills, Bridge of Clay tells the tale of a fractured family; a series of loss and distance, and ultimately, the bridge that brought them back together. 


Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 6th, 2018

Children of Blood & Bone, is a story told in a world where magic no longer exists. Years ago, this was not the case. Once, magic and the Gods were celebrated. Now, Diviners (those with Maji blood, but no magic) are treated poorly, and all the Maji have been killed. One of those including our main protagonist, Zélie’s, mother. Determined to find a way to bring back magic, Zélie, along with her brother Tzain, and Orïsha’s only princess, Amari (gone rogue), set out on a quest against all odds. Told from Zélie, Amari and Amari’s brother and crown prince, Inan’s viewpoints, Tomi Adeyemi weaves together a tale so beautifully and tragically relevant, it will leave you craving for answers and more.


Odd One Out Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101939536
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 9th, 2018

Featuring three different points of view, Odd One Out, explores sexuality, love, friendship and ones place in the world. Nic Stone offers three fresh voices (two best friends and one new girl),  who create their own family and support one another, right when they need it the most. I fell in love with each character and know that you will too. 


Zinnia and the Bees (Middle-Grade Novels) Cover Image
By Danielle Davis, Laura K. Horton (Illustrator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781623708672
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Capstone Young Readers - August 2017

When Zinnia's older brother and best friend, Adam, disappears without a proper goodbye, Zinnia is left feeling very alone. This changes slightly (although not in a good way) when a colony of bees decide that her hair makes for a good temporary home. Told in alternating perspectives, this is a story about finding your home and balancing the feelings of change. 

 


I Wish You More (Encouragement Gifts for Kids, Uplifting Books for Graduation) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781452126999
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - March 31st, 2015

This is one of the most beautiful books I have read. For children or adults, the author writes a beautiful narrative about wishing the absolute best for someone you love. “I Wish You More” can be used for graduations, when one is feeling low, or just to show someone how much you care.


Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316508889
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 31st, 2017

Nevermoor is The Unwanteds meets The Apprentice Witch, with a splash of Alice in Wonderland and The Mysterious Benedict Society. Seems like the perfect book right? This book weaves together a magical tale of cursed child, Morrigan Crow, who manages to escape her fate while traveling to alternate world. But how long can one really escape their fate? Morrigan must successfully complete every task to join the Wundrous Society, or risk being sent back home. I loved this adventure, and am sure that you will too!


The World of Work Cover Image
By Silvie Sanza, Milan Stary (Illustrator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781911242871
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribo - March 7th, 2017

I love that this book features ALL TYPES of jobs. When you are little, I feel like you only get exposed to the jobs your parents do or the stereotypical firefighters, doctors, police, and teachers. This book features so many more, including: working for the Mountain Rescue Service, being an Operational Planner or even….a Bookseller!!


The Apprentice Witch Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338118605
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chicken House - June 26th, 2018

The Apprentice Witch is a story for those seeking a smart and heartwarming fantasy. The underdog of the story, Arianwyn, has been sent to a town called Lull after not quite passing, yet not quite failing her witch exam. Best defined by its namesake, Lull has been without a witch for quite some time. Because of this, Arianwyn becomes overwhelmed with tasks. These matters are not helped, when the woods nearby start to unveil a dark and mysterious power between its trees. Plagued by an equally unsettling symbol in the back of her mind, Arianwyn must figure out how to save her town whilst striving to be the witch, she hopes she can become.


They Both Die at the End Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062457790
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - September 5th, 2017

I write this review after just finishing the audio for this book. And man, it hits you right in the feels. When both Mateo and Rufus, get notice that they will be dying at some point in the next 24 hours, they set out on a quest to LIVE. To really live, and become the people they want to be. This book has some sci-fi realism in it that I loved. Regardless of the title, you are still not prepared for the ending. Fans of John Green’s Will Grayson, Will Grayson, John Corey Whaley’s Noggin, or Neal Shusterman’s Scythe, will eat this story up.


Warcross Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780399547973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - June 26th, 2018

Imagine a world, where when you want a break from life, all you would need to do is put on some glasses. That is Warcross; a virtual reality game that everyone is watching. The players in the game are celebrities, and those who watch-their fans. However, when Emika Chen accidently hacks her way into the game, she becomes an instant player & undercover agent for Hideo Tanaka-the creator of Warcross. Something that once seemed like a harmless game is no longer that & Emika must figure out who is trying to destroy Warcross, before she’s the one who’s destroyed.


I Love You Already! Cover Image
By Jory John, Benji Davies (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062370952
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - December 22nd, 2015

This book makes me smile every time I read it. It perfectly explains the concept of needing time to recharge, while also visualizing the differences between introverts and extroverts. Bear wants to spend a quiet day alone. Duck wants to go on adventures with Bear. Can these friends come to a compromise on how to spend their day? You can read it as a sequel to, Goodnight Already, or as a standalone. Either way, it is sure to warm your heart.


The Dangerous Art of Blending In Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062659002
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 30th, 2018

This was a really painful read. That being said, I think that it is really important, needed and can do a lot of good. It is my hope that when people read it, they will become LGBTQ+ allies and speak up for those who are having trouble. But, I digress. The Dangerous Art of Blending In is about a teen boy trying to overcome and get out of parental abuse stemming from his sexual orientation. It is also about learning to let people in and accept help-which is hard to do, when all you want to do, is blend in.


Drawn Together Cover Image
By Minh Lê, Dan Santat (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484767603
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - June 5th, 2018

This books makes me tear up everytime I flip through the pages. This is a story of broken barriers. This is a story of love, and a story of connection. Where words fail, art does not. Minh and Dan artistically (both in language and in illustrations), weave together a masterpiece, that will make you hold those close to you, even closer. 


Five Feet Apart Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534437333
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 20th, 2018

This story is a celebration of life. When our main characters, Stella and Will end up at the same hospital with CF, they are instantly curious about each other. However, while Stella does the best she can to stay on top of her treatments and regimes, Will is the complete opposite. Stella does not understand how Will could be so lax about things that could prolong his life. Will does not believe Stella is living her best life. Both have pasts they’d rather not speak about and both need each other, more than they realize. Where’s the irony, you ask? If they touch each other, they could die. With this in mind, “5 feet apart” becomes their lifeline and a normalcy, they cling to. This is a thrilling, heartbreaking and informative read, which will make you rethink the everyday.