0 Items $0.00

 

Vroman's Celebrates 125 years with special anniversary events

Tiffany's Staff Picks

Tiffany is a bookseller in the Children's Department

 

 

 

Brightly Burning Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328948939
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2018

Jane Eyre in space doesn’t sound like a must-read or a good thing, but this book is all those things. Inventively re-told, the classic tale lends itself to this futuristic setting.  Full of the drama and intrigue in the original, Donne makes this tale her on so it’s not just a re-hashing. Read both books if you haven’t, there’s a reason Jane is a classic!


The Poet X Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062662804
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - March 6th, 2018

This is one of those books I’ve been waiting to read my whole life. Written in verse, the novel tells the story of Xiomara Batista, a 16-year-old slam poet who uses her poems to cope with her overprotective, religious mother as well as capture the feelings she’s experiencing as she falls in love for the first time. Hers is a voice that I haven’t read in YA before and I’m grateful I could experience her story.


Puddin' (Dumplin' #2) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062418395
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 7th, 2019

Fun, feminist and full of heart, Puddin tells the story of the blossoming friendship between straight-laced Millie Michalchuk and Callie Reyes, a girl who’s willing to break the rules (and the law) to get what she wants. Their friendship is a delight and it’s great to read a YA story about girls coming together. And we get to check in with Willowdean, which is always a bonus!


Heroine Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062847195
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 12th, 2019

Whew. Intense and hard-hitting, educational and gripping, Heroine is an examination of the Opioid crisis currently going on in our country. Mickey, the heroine, is super relatable and McGinnis does a wonderful job of showing how addiction can happen to anyone. I highly recommend it to anyone who is even slightly interested in the topic.


SHOUT Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780670012107
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 12th, 2019

From the author of the ground-breaking novel, Speak, Anderson has outdone herself with Shout. In this poetic memoir, she tells her own story from childhood; from her experience procession her own sexual assault to reclaiming her voice by publishing Speak. This book is a tour de force and should be required reading for everyone.


In Other Lands Cover Image
By Sarah Rees Brennan, Carolyn Nowak (Illustrator)
Please call for price (626)449-5320.
ISBN: 9781618731203
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Big Mouth House - August 15th, 2017

Read this book if…

  1. You love an unapologetically nerdy, in-your-face, main character who isn’t afraid to speak his mind.
  2. You want a takedown of the chosen one trope and numerous other fantasy tropes.
  3. You loved Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  4. You hated Carry On by Rainbow Rowell and you want a better version of a similar story.


To Kill a Kingdom Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250112705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - March 5th, 2019

A wholly original re-telling of The Little Mermaid that grabs you by the throat and doesn’t let the pressure up until the last word! This book exceeded my expectations as I read about Lira, a siren turned human who’s tasked with retrieving the heart of Prince Elian, a pirate intent on ridding the world of sirens once and for all. Their back-and-forth was delicious and their world enchanting!


The Wicked Deep Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781481497350
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - April 2nd, 2019

I’m a sucker for anything witch related and this book definitely met my high expectations. The eerie atmosphere and the sense of place really set the mood for the book, and I was intrigued by the mystery. Without saying too much, this book definitely had some twists and turns! Read this if you’re looking for something creepy and fun.


Long Way Down Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781481438261
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - April 2nd, 2019

What a beautiful book. An important book. After his brother is killed in a gang related shooting, 15-year-old Will has to make the toughest decision of his life: Will he retaliate? A powerful meditation on life, loss and hope, this book is perfect for readers who loved The Hate You Give and Dear Martin.


A Court of Thorns and Roses Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781619635180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - May 3rd, 2016

Read this if…

  1. You love a good Beauty and the Beast inspired story.
  2. If you love bold heroines who aren’t afraid to go after what they want.
  3. You love fantasy featuring faeries.
  4. You think Sarah J. Maas is the queen of YA fantasy.
  5. You finally want to understand what all the hype is about.

What are you waiting for?


Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Movie Tie-in Edition Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062792167
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 30th, 2018

This book is so stinkin’ cute. I’ve never read a book where I wanted to hug the main character so much. Simon is a gay teen who’s navigating his sexuality, relationships and typical high school stuff when he starts talking to a mystery person online. As their flirtations grow, Simon must come to terms with who he is and who he wants to be. The book is delightful and perfect for any teen who struggles with their identity. SO EVERY TEEN.