Vroman's Bookstore 2021-2022 Teacher of the Year!

Vroman's 2020 Teacher of the Year banner

We are so excited to announce that Mr. Kyle Michealsen of Pasadena High School is 
Vroman's Teacher of the Year Award 2021 - 2022!


We wholeheartedly thank everyone who submitted a nomation this year. It was so moving to read all about the wonderful teachers out there doing good work!

Keep a look out for next year's call for submission. We're looking forward to it!



With your help, we will honor one of our community's many outstanding teachers by presenting them with the title of TEACHER OF THE YEAR. Nominate your favorite teacher by telling us why they deserve this award: Have they made a difference in your life? Have they inspired your love of reading? Do they go beyond the call of duty in their job? Do they make learning fun? Whatever the reason, tell us why your teacher deserves this special recognition.

Send us a typed or handwritten essay of 500 words or less. (Must be legible.). Include your name, email, phone number, and address, along with the teacher's name, and their school information. Teachers MUST be school teachers who are CURRENTLY employed by a school (private or public) in the Pasadena and surrounding areas. Teachers may teach any grade, any subject. 

  • Emails entries are STRONGLY ENCOURAGED and can be sent to: email@vromansbookstore.com with the subject line Teacher of the Year.
  • Mail entries will also be taken and can be sent to: 695 E. Colorado Blvd. Pasadena, CA 91101, Attention: Teacher of the Year.

All submissions need to be received by Vroman’s Bookstore no later than 9pm on 3/24/22.

We are so honored to be able to continue to celebrate and acknowledge the amazing, hard-working and passionate teachers in our community.

Our previous calls for nominations have produced hundres of submissions for incredible teachers all over Pasadena and the surrounding areas. Our past winners include:

Jenny Wong of Longden Elementary School (2018-2019)
Daniel Alamo of Huntington Park High School (2017-2018)
Melinda Burkhardt of Lincoln Elementary in La Crescenta (2016-2017)
Byron Flitsch of Aveson Charter School (2015-2016)