Vroman's Bookstore 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year!

With your help, we will honor one of our community's many outstanding teachers by presenting them with the title of TEACHER OF THE YEAR. Nominate your favorite teacher by telling us why they deserve this award: Have they made a difference in your life? Have they inspired your love of reading? Do they go beyond the call of duty in their job? Do they make learning fun? Whatever the reason, tell us why your teacher deserves this special recognition!

We are so honored to be able to continue to celebrate and acknowledge the amazing, hard-working and passionate teachers in our community.

Our previous calls for nominations have produced hundreds of submissions for incredible teachers all over Pasadena and the surrounding areas. Our past winners include:

Alyson Terwilliger of Odyssey Charter School (2022-2023)
Joshua Tornek from John Marshall Fundamental (Honorable Mention Prize) (2022-2023)
Kyle Michaelsen of Pasadena High School (2021-2022)
Jenny Wong of Longden Elementary School (2018-2019)
Daniel Alamo of Huntington Park High School (2017-2018)
Byron Flitsch of Longden Elementary School (2016-2017)



The Vroman's Bookstore 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year will be awarded a $500 gift card

A $500 gift card will also be donated to the Teacher of the Year's school or library.

A $100 gift card will be given to the person who submitted the nomination.


Send us a typed or handwritten essay of 500 words or less. (Must be legible.) Include your name, email, phone number, and address, along with the teacher's name and their school information. Teachers MUST be school teachers who are CURRENTLY employed by a school (private or public) in the Pasadena and surrounding areas. Teachers may teach any grade, any subject. 

  • Email entries are STRONGLY ENCOURAGED and can be sent to: email@vromansbookstore.com with the subject line Teacher of the Year.

  • Mail entries will also be taken and can be sent to:

    • 695 E. Colorado Blvd.

    • Pasadena, CA 91101

    • Attention: Teacher of the Year


All submissions need to be received by Vroman’s Bookstore no later than 9pm on 6/27/24.